​       Call Now 0131 4413231        

         302 Oxgangs Road North


         EH13 9ND

         Email: info@sevenhillsdental.co.uk

A warm welcome to Seven Hills dental practice

Previously known as Oxgangs Dental Practice,we had clients coming from all over Edinburgh and the Lothians and even from the Scottish Borders.The decision to change the name was to respect the fact that our services are not restricted to the local area and we always welcome people from all over Scotland.

.Why the name Seven Hills ?
Well…It could be that the practice is located on a hill  or we are in the shadow of the Pentland hills ?
No, since 1962 this surgery has served the people of Edinburgh and in recognition of this fact and our desire to pay homage to this wonderful city we thought the name Seven Hills was very appropriate.
So what are the seven hills of Edinburgh ?

Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland is traditionally said to have been "built on Seven Hills", in an allusion to the city of Rome, also supposedly built on seven hills.

Traditional Seven
• Arthur's Seat 
• Castle Rock  
• Calton Hill   
• Corstorphine Hill  
• Braid Hills   
• Blackford Hill 
• Craiglockhart Hill 

Debate over 'The Seven'
Before the construction of the New Town, Edinburgh was built on a single hill, the volcanic Castle Rock and its tail that extended to the east. The building of the New Town and subsequent development in the 19th and 20th centuries saw first Calton Hill and later all of the others listed above being absorbed into the city, and the "traditional seven" have some claim to being described as the seven principal hills within the modern boundaries of Edinburgh. 
There are many other hills in Edinburgh, some part of the above ranges, or simply hidden beneath housing etc. There are for example, ridges extending from Dalry and Ardmillan, and also Sighthill. Craigmillar Castle is also on top of a small hill, and there is another small one underneath Colinton. There are also hills beneath the New Town, and the Old Town to the south of the Cowgate. Some of these hills rise to heights substantially above the traditional seven — for example parts of Fairmilehead at 183 metres (600 ft).
The Pentland Hills to the south of Edinburgh are traditionally thought of as being outside the city, although they are very close, and because of their height they dominate views to the south of the city. 
Allermuir Hill at 493m is only slightly further from the centre of Edinburgh than Corstorphine Hill, and is almost twice the height of Arthur's Seat.
A number of Edinburgh suburbs, also contain "hill" or synonyms in their name —Abbeyhill, Alnwickhill, Church Hill, Curriehill, Drylaw (Lowland Scots for a "hill without a spring"), Ferniehill, Firrhill, Greenhill, Piershill, Sighthill; and others also contain the element "Craig" meaning a large rock, such as Craigentinny and Craigmillar.

We hope to provide our services to the people of this beautiful city built on the Seven Hills and beyond. We also hope you have enjoyed reading about Edinburgh's Seven Hills!